Linkage Institute Waivers

The State of Florida Legislature established 11 International Linkage Institutes to develop stronger economic, cultural, educational and social ties between Florida and countries considered strategically important to the state (Florida state statute 288.8175). The Linkage Institutes' Out-of-State Tuition Exemption program provides international students from eligible countries with the opportunity to apply for a waiver of the out-of-state portion of tuition. Selection is competitive and students must apply to the appropriate Linkage Institute directly.

Requirements for all Linkage Institute Waivers: Applicants must be admitted to one of Florida's public universities or community colleges. Applicants must have a 3.0 GPA, and must commit to returning home within 3 years of completing their degree for a length of time equal to the tuition exemption period.

NOTE: Pay close attention to application deadlines. Many occur during the spring for the following academic year.


Brazil Linkage Institute

Canada Linkage Institute

Caribbean Linkage Institute


Eligible countries:

Antigua and Barbuda, Bahamas, Barbados, Belize, Dominica, Dominican Republic, Grenada, Guyana, Haiti, Jamaica, St. Kitts and Nevis, St. Lucia, St. Vincent and the Grenadines, Trinidad and Tobago

Costa Rica Linkage Institute

Eastern Europe Linkage Institute


Eligible countries:

Albania, Armenia, Azerbaijan, Belarus, Bosnia-Herzegovina, Bulgaria, Croatia, Czech Republic, Estonia, Georgia, Hungary, Kazakhstan, Kosovo, Kyrgystan, Latvia, Lithuania, Macedonia, Moldova, Poland, Romania, Russia, Serbia and Montenegro, Slovak Republic, Slovenia, Tajikistan, Turkmenistan, Ukraine, Uzbekistan

France Linkage Institute

Israel Linkage Institute

Japan Linkage Institute

Mexico Linkage Institute

West Africa Linkage Institute


Click on the "Florida/West Africa Linkage Institute Waiver" tab in the left-hand column.

Eligible countries:

Benin, Burkina Faso, Cape Verde Islands, Cote D'Ivoire, Gambia, Ghana, Guinea, Guinea-Bissau, Liberia, Mali, Mauritania, Niger, Nigeria, Senegal, Sierra Leone, and Togo